ParksAtlas
Ashcreek-Crestwood · District 4 · Natural area · 46 acres

Woods Memorial Natural Area

Natural areaPublic entry unverified

Public ownership and inventory records do not establish permission to enter. Public-entry status is separate from wheelchair accessibility.

Classification and evidence

Official page label: Natural area; Atlas classification rules. Classification: source-labeled.

Source captured: 2026-06-02. Human verification: Pending.

Check current official information

Confirm public entry and current hours.

Suggest a correction
Trillium flowers at Wilkes Creek HeadwatersPhoto from the City's park page

Park history

Woods Memorial Natural Area was a gift to Multnomah County from the Southwest Hills Kiwanis Club on December 15, 1950. The deed stipulated that the "site was to be . . . used for park and playground purposes only. . . ." Multnomah County transferred ownership of the site to the city of Portland in 1988.

From the City's page for this park.

Visitor amenities

Published amenities are checked separately from entry conditions. Each links to other documented locations; confirm current hours before visiting.

No visitor activities are verified from the available entry and amenity evidence. Inventory records alone do not establish public use.

What kind of place this is

A natural area: habitat protection and stewardship guide what uses and facilities are appropriate. Classified from official page labels it a natural area; our model.

Through the year

Seasonal facilities and listings captured by the Atlas. These records do not measure attendance, utilization or all activity at the site.

Counts describe captured listings, not attendance or all activity. No listings captured does not mean the site is unused.

Winter
Dec–Feb

Dark by 5 and wet most days: cover, lighting, indoor rooms, and paths that drain.

  • No seasonal facilities verified in this index
0 programs · 0 events starts captured
Spring
Mar–May

Fields and gardens open; showers between sun. Leagues, planting, first picnics.

  • No seasonal facilities verified in this index
0 programs · 0 events starts captured
Summer
Jun–Aug

Water, shade, long evenings — the season the system is built around.

  • No seasonal facilities verified in this index
0 programs · 0 events starts captured
Fall
Sep–Nov

Light shortens and leagues wind down; shelters and lighting carry the season.

  • No seasonal facilities verified in this index
0 programs · 0 events starts captured
What the record holds here, by season
SeasonProgramsRecurring eventsOne-time
Winter Dec–Feb
Not yet published
———
Spring Mar–May
Recorded from 2026-06-11
000
Summer Jun–Aug
Recorded from 2026-06-11
000
Fall Sep–Nov
Recorded through 2026-10; 1 month still to come
000
Our reading of the calendar
Which facilities count as in season is our model of Portland's year (splash pads and wading pools in summer; fields, gardens and interactive fountains spring through fall; everything else year-round) — not the City's schedule. Check posted hours for pools, splash pads, and restrooms. From 16 weekly catalog snapshots (2026-06-11 to 2026-10-12). "Programs" are distinct titles; "sections" are the catalog's individual records — a swim level at one time slot for one week is one section. Complete through 2026-10; later months fill in as registration opens. Winter counts fill in when winter registration opens.

What's on

No current listings were captured and matched to this property. This does not establish that no activity takes place. See the citywide calendar and programs.

Partners & friends

The whole ecosystem

Community organizations that steward, fund, operate, or run programs at Woods Memorial Natural Area. Labels show what is confirmed and what is still being filled in.

How it's holding up

The City's own inventory of what is here and the condition it last recorded for each item. Dates are the source's; old dates mean no newer public assessment, not that nothing has happened since. Historical project estimates appear below; they are separate from these condition records.

Historical cost profile · 2023 reporting

Woods Memorial Natural Area

$3.5M

5 distinct source rows. Proposed repair and improvement costs, not a current funding gap.

All-in annual service cost: Not established

Current remaining repair cost: Not verified

What the estimates cover

Other / mixed scope$2.3M
Paths & access$953K
Landscape & habitat$147K
Parking & site infrastructure$60K
Bridges & retaining walls$16.2K

Categories are Atlas labels based on project titles. Expansion and new provision are included where proposed; a project can include several kinds of work.

The work, cost & reason (5 source rows)
General Improvements$2,314,213

Asset as named in source: Not specified

Management Plan. Trail and Visitor Amenities

KGW table row 1177. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.

Original source table ↗
Pathway Renovation$953,015

Asset as named in source: Woods Memorial Natural Area

Replace the damaged pathway, trails and sidewalks that have been rated as 4 and 5 in Pathway assessment

KGW table row 1175. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.

Original source table ↗
Ecological Restoration_ Woods Memorial Natural Area$147,006

Asset as named in source: Not specified

Placholder for Ecological health restoration

KGW table row 1179. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.

Original source table ↗
Upsize of storm system$59,967

Asset as named in source: Woods Memorial Natural Area

Evaluate and Upsize of storm system

KGW table row 1176. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.

Original source table ↗
Repair pedestrian bridge$16,183

Asset as named in source: Pedestrian bridge

Renovate Complex and Major bridges that was rated as 4-5 in bridge condition assessment 2021

KGW table row 1178. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.

Original source table ↗

No rated built records linked in the condition dataset. Condition ratings do not determine these dollar estimates.

Source: KGW’s November 2023 table. Current status, remaining scope and funding are unverified. Exact duplicate rows count once; other scope overlaps remain unresolved.

Compare repair estimates across parks →

Annual service · FY 2026–27 adopted

A complete annual cost is not yet available.

This property has no named account linked in the public budget extract. Shared crews and citywide programs may still fund its care.

Later budget supplements and unallocated shared services are not included.

Annual breakdown & district context →

District picture · District 4

This park in the district picture

The same public records, read the same way for every property, so this park can be set next to its district. Each figure keeps its own source and date. “Not available” means the source has no record for this property. It is not a zero.

People nearby

Residents within a half mile
7,795
Households within a half mile
3,457

2020 Census blocks whose centre point lies within a half mile of the park boundary, measured in a straight line. Residents, not visitors. Blocks outside the city limits count.

Recorded backlog

Open backlog IDs
5
Closed backlog IDs
0

Records in the PP&R backlog map workbook that name this property. The workbook publishes no cost field, so these are counts of records, not dollars.

Active capital projects

Active geocoded projects
0

Geocoded PP&R capital projects at this property, a subset of the full capital program. The cost is the published estimated total project cost, not spending to date.

Who is on record

Stewardship group on record

A conservancy, friends group or stewardship partner is on record here. The split of tasks between staff and volunteers is not published.

From the department-provided partnership directory. It records what is on paper, not who does each task.

Repair ledger

Public data does not currently flag repair candidates for this park. Additional PP&R maintenance exports can be added without changing the page structure.

Know this park?

Seen something here that's broken, fixed, or missing from this list? Records are updated periodically; tell us what you see.

Send a condition note →

Public assets

All 0

Furnishings the City inventories here, with each item's condition score — 1 is good, 5 is very bad. Asset photos aren't public yet.

Official Portland.gov profile

From the City's park page

Woods Memorial Natural Area on Portland.gov

Open official page

Learn more about closures and postponements related to the COVID-19 pandemic response.

About 98% of the landscape is native including oaks, Douglas fir, cedar, willow, red and blue elderberry, Oregon grape, trillium, thimbleberry, and others. This steeply sloped site is part of the Fanno Watershed, containing the headwaters of the two forks of Woods Creek. Although most of the park was logged about one hundred years ago, there are still some historic trees. It offers a natural setting that attracts wildlife in the quiet woods, along the creek, and in the meadow. Linked on this page is a PDF with a more detailed map of the trails.

City label
Natural area
Year acquired
1988
Official acres
45.98
City section
SW
Neighborhood
Ashcreek-Crestwood
Location

SW 45th Avenue and Woods Street Portland, OR 97219

Directions
Amenities and activities
Paths (unpaved)Trails (hiking)

All dogs must be leashed in this park.

This page, on a sign

The QR label for this park points here. Print labels →

https://parks.portlandciviclab.org/parks/woods-memorial-natural-area-866?utm_source=park_qr&utm_medium=sign&utm_campaign=park_866

Where this comes from

Facilities from the City's amenity pages and asset layers; hours, photo, and history from the City's park page; programs and events from its catalogs; condition from PortlandMaps public records. Where the City publishes nothing, this page says so instead of guessing.