PP&R reports year-round care and activation; contract terms, City support and financial value not supplied.
PP&R FY2025–26 Partnerships & Volunteerism report, p. 11Simon and Helen Director Park
The captured official page publishes visiting hours. Check the source for current closures. Public-entry status is separate from wheelchair accessibility.
Classification and evidence
Official page label: Park; Atlas classification rules. Classification: inferred.
Source captured: 2026-06-02. Human verification: Pending.
Check current official informationConfirm the inferred property type with PP&R.
Published activities: meet in a public square, get online, and be in a park.
Photo from the City's park pageVisitor amenities
Published amenities are checked separately from entry conditions. Each links to other documented locations; confirm current hours before visiting.
- meet in a public squarePlaza or terrace
- get onlinePublic WiFi
- splash in a fountainInteractive fountain
- sit by a fountainFountain
- be in a parkAny park
- see public artPublic art
Potential additions to investigate
Passing the initial size-and-type screen is not a feasibility finding. Usable space, existing uses, habitat, public access, utilities, permission, construction costs, and ongoing maintenance funding require site-specific review. Missing acreage or uncertain classification remains unassessed.
- Summer water play — Cooling and swim programs.
- Nature education — Environmental programs and guided walks.
- Evening use — needs restroom
- Gatherings & events — needs restroom
- Youth drop-in — needs playground
- Markets & festivals — needs restroom
Outside the size-and-type screen for this 0.7-acre park property: be inside when it rains (indoor space or community center or arts or cultural center or gymnasium).
Inventory-based screening only. Recorded assets do not establish opening hours, program staffing, permission, or operating funding. Potential additions require review of usable space, habitat, utilities, access, and ongoing maintenance. Unverified properties remain unassessed.
Something specific to this park — the thing you'd use it for if it were here.
Send an idea for this park →School grounds nearby
Public school grounds within a half mile, by straight line. What is listed is what OpenStreetMap mappers have recorded, not an inventory. The district sets public access.
- Lincoln High · Portland Public Schools · 10.8 acres0.4 mi
On record: 8 athletics pitchs, 5 tracks, 2 American football pitchs, 1 soccer pitch, 1 lacrosse pitch, 1 playground. Not recorded in this property’s inventory: soccer or futsal field, playground, running track.
Beyond parks explains what opening a school ground would take.
School grounds: Metro RLIS. Features inside them: © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
Through the year
Seasonal facilities and listings captured by the Atlas. These records do not measure attendance, utilization or all activity at the site.
Counts describe captured listings, not attendance or all activity. No listings captured does not mean the site is unused.
Dark by 5 and wet most days: cover, lighting, indoor rooms, and paths that drain.
- meet in a public square
- get online
- be in a park
- sit by a fountain
- see public art
Fields and gardens open; showers between sun. Leagues, planting, first picnics.
- meet in a public square
- get online
- be in a park
- splash in a fountain
- sit by a fountain
- see public art
Water, shade, long evenings — the season the system is built around.
- meet in a public square
- get online
- be in a park
- splash in a fountain
- sit by a fountain
- see public art
Light shortens and leagues wind down; shelters and lighting carry the season.
- meet in a public square
- get online
- be in a park
- splash in a fountain
- sit by a fountain
- see public art
| Season | Programs | Recurring events | One-time |
|---|---|---|---|
Winter Dec–Feb Not yet published | — | — | — |
Spring Mar–May Recorded from 2026-06-11 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Summer Jun–Aug Recorded from 2026-06-11 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Fall Sep–Nov Recorded through 2026-10; 1 month still to come | 0 | 0 | 0 |
What's on
No current listings were captured and matched to this property. This does not establish that no activity takes place. See the citywide calendar and programs.
Partners & friends
The whole ecosystemCommunity organizations that steward, fund, operate, or run programs at Simon and Helen Director Park. Labels show what is confirmed and what is still being filled in.
Support this park
Real ways to help Simon and Helen Director Park and parks like it. This site does not process donations; every link below goes to an official giving or volunteering channel.
How it's holding up
The City's own inventory of what is here and the condition it last recorded for each item. Dates are the source's; old dates mean no newer public assessment, not that nothing has happened since. Historical project estimates appear below; they are separate from these condition records.
Historical cost profile · 2023 reporting
Simon and Helen Director Park
$615.7K
5 distinct source rows. Proposed repair and improvement costs, not a current funding gap.
All-in annual service cost: Not established
Current remaining repair cost: Not verified
What the estimates cover
Categories are Atlas labels based on project titles. Expansion and new provision are included where proposed; a project can include several kinds of work.
The work, cost & reason (5 source rows)
LED lighting Replacement$441,018
Asset as named in source: Simon and Helen Director Park
Upgrade lighting to LED
KGW table row 975. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.
Original source table ↗Director Electrical Capacity Upgrade$94,071
Asset as named in source: Simon and Helen Director Park
Upgrade power capacity at Directors Park
KGW table row 972. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.
Original source table ↗Repair Storm water planter$59,967
Asset as named in source: Simon and Helen Director Park
The granite storm curbs collasped into the planter on the NE & NW side of the block.
KGW table row 973. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.
Original source table ↗ESPC-II_ Simon and Helen Director Park$14,819
Asset as named in source: Not specified
Convert existing lighting to LED technology via a re-lamp approach.. FIM Name: 09.07-1335 Building Exterior Lighting LED Conversion
KGW table row 976. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.
Original source table ↗ESPC-II_ Simon and Helen Director Park$5,859
Asset as named in source: Not specified
Install a GE control node on each pathway light fixture. Node for parks with <50 fixtures will be model #ELWM18BXXXXAD. Node for parks with >50 fixtures will be model #ELWN08BXXXXAD.. FIM Name: 09.17-1335 Building Exterior Lighting Controls
KGW table row 974. Source field: “Escalated Estimate.” Estimate date, inflation basis, funded amount and completion status are not supplied.
Original source table ↗0 of 6 assessed built records are rated poor or very bad in the separate condition dataset. Condition ratings do not determine these dollar estimates.
Source: KGW’s November 2023 table. Current status, remaining scope and funding are unverified. Exact duplicate rows count once; other scope overlaps remain unresolved.
Compare repair estimates across parks →Annual service · FY 2026–27 adopted
A complete annual cost is not yet available.
This property has no named account linked in the public budget extract. Shared crews and citywide programs may still fund its care.
Later budget supplements and unallocated shared services are not included.
Annual breakdown & district context →District picture · District 4
This park in the district picture
The same public records, read the same way for every property, so this park can be set next to its district. Each figure keeps its own source and date. “Not available” means the source has no record for this property. It is not a zero.
People nearby
- Residents within a half mile
- 15,262
- Households within a half mile
- 11,810
2020 Census blocks whose centre point lies within a half mile of the park boundary, measured in a straight line. Residents, not visitors. Blocks outside the city limits count.
Recorded backlog
- Open backlog IDs
- 6
- Closed backlog IDs
- 1
Records in the PP&R backlog map workbook that name this property. The workbook publishes no cost field, so these are counts of records, not dollars.
Active capital projects
- Active geocoded projects
- 0
Geocoded PP&R capital projects at this property, a subset of the full capital program. The cost is the published estimated total project cost, not spending to date.
Who is on record
Partner operates an asset here
A partner is on record operating a facility or program site at this property. City crews may still care for the grounds.
- Clean & Safe Inc · License, May 1, 2024 to Apr 30, 2027License to permit and hold events at Director Park
Partners at assets here: Downtown Portland Clean & Safe (operates a facility or program site)
From the department-provided partnership directory. It records what is on paper, not who does each task. Each agreement links to its entry on PP&R's agreements with partners, with the public text where it's posted, how to request it where it isn't, and the rules that govern partnerships.
Condition across all assets
Citywide condition atlasAcross 6 assessed assets at this park, 0% are in poor or very-bad condition (rated 4–5). Pooled from the City's public assessment layers — buildings, bridges, playgrounds, courts, fields, fences, paths and amenities.
This count comes from the City's rated asset layers; the “Public assets” list below is a separate furnishings inventory, so its items and scores are counted separately and the two totals need not match.
Condition is rated 1 (good) to 5 (very bad); no score means not yet assessed and is excluded. Park trees are inventoried separately and not counted here. These assessment records do not contain repair costs. Historical project estimates are shown separately.
Repair ledger
Each row is one record from PP&R's public asset layer. No itemized repair cost is published for these records, so none is shown. Dates are the source's last published assessment; treat older ones as unverified.
| Asset | Condition | Status | Replacement | Assessed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Permanent Bollard Replacement field says yes. Priority high. Public note: Easily kicked over Record 3401 | Condition not published | Active | yes | not published |
Seen something here that's broken, fixed, or missing from this list? Records are updated periodically; tell us what you see.
Send a condition note →Public assets
All 74Furnishings the City inventories here, with each item's condition score — 1 is good, 5 is very bad. Asset photos aren't public yet.
From the City's park page
Director Park on Portland.gov
Located in the heart of downtown Portland at 815 SW Park Avenue, our mission is to be a public piazza that provides an elegant, clean, safe, and versatile space that provides rentals to positively activate the park and complement downtown.
"My grandparents, Simon and Helen Director, were part of a generation of immigrants whose hard work helped build this city. Simon Director (1891-1981) was born in the small Russian village of Chartoriysk. He arrived in Portland in 1910 and began work as a butcher. Helen Holtzman (1900-1976) was born in Warsaw, Poland. She arrived in Portland in 1915 and that same year met and married my grandfather. They had three daughters, June, Ruth, and Arlene. Simon and Helen Director served their community with distinction, paving the way for their children and grandchildren and for generations to come. This park honors their memory and that of their generation in the hope that those who follow will continue their efforts to make Portland the wonderful city that we call home."
- Jordan Director Schnitzer
Park hours: 5:00am-midnight
All dogs must be leashed in this park.
This page, on a sign
The QR label for this park points here. Print labels →
https://parks.portlandciviclab.org/parks/simon-and-helen-director-park-1335?utm_source=park_qr&utm_medium=sign&utm_campaign=park_1335
Where this comes from
Facilities from the City's amenity pages and asset layers; hours, photo, and history from the City's park page; programs and events from its catalogs; condition from PortlandMaps public records. Where the City publishes nothing, this page says so instead of guessing.